FRICO WITH POTATOES ONIONS AND CHEESE ( frico con patate e cipolla)

You are ready for a new dish!?!

Today we cooking frico…… frico? what is frico?

Frico is a mix of potatoes onions and Montasio cheese.

Is a dish typical of my region the Friuli Venezia Giulia ( north-east of Italy)

ingredients for 1 frico ( 4 people):

  • 250 grams of potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 260 grams of Montasio cheese  to fresh and seeds seasoned
  • olive oil
  • grana padano cheese

Preparation:

In a pot with water you make to boil the potatoes.
To put the potatoes in cold water, when it begins to boil to calculate 20 minutes.

In the meantime chopped the onion.

Put the onion in a  frying pan with hot olive oil,  when the onion is brown stop the fire.

After you can to cut into cube the cheese.

When the potatoes are ready  crush it like a mashed potatoes and mix in the  frying pan the potatoes the onion and the cheese.

You cook this mix  with high fire, move the pan frying frequently , when the down side is ready   turn upside-down the frico.

When is ready from both the sides put in the dish and serve in table.

In my region there is a proverb ” mangià e murì” translate is eat and die,  this proverb is used when the food is very very good.

For this dish  this white wine: FRIULANO, is a typical wine of my region.

SIMPLE, GOOD, EATEN!

Sorry for my english.

 

 

This entry was posted in ALL-IN-ONE COURSE, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to FRICO WITH POTATOES ONIONS AND CHEESE ( frico con patate e cipolla)

  1. Bellissimo one of our favorites. Beautiful blog love it! AMORE!

  2. Alberto,
    I really like you blog. The dishes are authentic. Although your English is not perfect, I give you a lot of credit for trying. Bravo! Keep up the good work and I’ll be looking forward to future posts.
    Peter

  3. Pam says:

    What could be better than potatoes, onions, and cheese? It looks delicious!

  4. Hi Alberto! Thanks for stopping by my blog! We love cheese and the combination of all three sounds delicious! mangià e murì – hehee sounds great!

  5. ciao alberto, questo frico sembra buonissima. devo cucinare presto!

  6. bellini says:

    As they say your English is better than my Italian. I made this dish for the first time a few weeks ago and loved it. I am headed on a holiday to Italy in 2 weeks so am looking forward to trying it there.

  7. albertocook says:

    Thank you for visit my blog and your compliments.
    This dish is tipical of Friuli Venezia Giulia Is difficolt find this out of my region.
    Bye and happy Holliday.

  8. Villy says:

    Mamma mia, this looks so delicious! Complimenti!

  9. sherrie says:

    i can’t wait to try this — your english is good enough! i understood exactly what to do, lol. thank you.

  10. Pingback: Frico con le Patate | CityMeetsCountry

  11. This looks really good, I’m not sure we have that cheese here, I live in a really small town but I’m going to see if I can find something comparable. I enjoy cooking things from different place and I can’t wait to try this. Thank You for sharing.

  12. Paula says:

    Alberto you just made my day! My family lived in Fruili for four years and love the local dishes. I have been looking for a authentic frico dish and can not wait to try this. Gracia!

Leave a Reply

